Self Made Hero logo


Launch Party: I Feel Machine

7 September 2018

Our first release of the autumn, I Feel Machine, launches this Thursday, 13th September, at Gosh! Comics in Soho. Julian Hanshaw and Krent Able, the anthology's editors, will be signing from 7pm.

I-Feel-Machine-1.jpg 29.79 KB

Kurt Vonnegut once said that to leave technology out of fiction is to misrepresent life. In I Feel Machine, six comics artists - among them, Shaun Tan (The Arrival), Tillie Walden (Spinning) and Box Brown (Tetris) - confront the subject of technology head on, exploring its impact on human relationships and human character. The six stories are:

"UPLOADING" by Box Brown
'STHLMTRANSFER' by Erik Svetoft
'Here I Am' by Tillie Walden
'Be Little With Me' by Julian Hanshaw
'Bloody Kids' by Krent Able

By turns touching and disturbing, these visionary short fictions oscillate between hope and despair. What will be the long-term effects of today's rapid technological change? The answer, it seems, is complicated - but worth finding out.

Join us at Soho's finest book shop on Thursday for an evening of fine conversation and palatable booze.

Here's what we're publishing this autumn

29 August 2018

The heatwave is over. No deal is nigh. Food prices are set to rocket. But there are at least five reasons to be cheerful. Behold SelfMadeHero's autumn lineup!

autumn-2018-ifm-1.jpg 131.87 KB


The list kicks off in September with I Feel Machine, a landmark anthology of short fiction featuring work by Shaun Tan (The Arrival), Tillie Walden (Spinning), Box Brown (Tetris) and Erik Svetoft. Edited by British comics artists Julian Hanshaw and Krent Able, who make their own inimitable contributions, I Feel Machine explores the strange interplay between humanity and technology. By turns cautionary and celebratory, these visionary short stories offer an electrifying glimpse into our collective future.

Jeff Lemire has said of the book, "I Feel Machine is a truly glorious thing. Some of my favourite cartoonists in the world between two covers, exploring one of my favourite themes. The ultimate comics machine!"

autumn-2018-andy-1.jpg 190.15 KB


Our Art Masters series continues in October with Typex's hotly anticipated graphic biography of the King of Pop Art. Andy: The Life and Times of Andy Warhol is a monumental work of graphic non-fiction. At 568 pages, it's a big book - but it rattles along, capturing Warhol's life with astonishing wit, originality and draughtsmanship. Handsomely produced, with silver edges and a fabulous postmodern cover design, Andy is a thing to behold.

autumn-2018-lovecraft-1.jpg 44.25 KB


"This is the best way to enjoy Lovecraft." So said Boing Boing upon the release of I.N.J. Culbard's graphic adaptation of The Case of Charles Dexter Ward. The same has been said of his takes on At the Mountains of Madness, The Shadow Out of Time and The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath. In October, Lovecraft: Four Classic Horror Stories collects all four adaptations into a single hardback volume. Wrapped in a stunningly designed dust jacket, this 520-page graphic novel is an object of beauty.

autumn-2018-lip-hook-1.jpg 106.72 KB


David Hine and Mark Stafford's adaptation of Victor Hugo's The Man Who Laughs was nominated for the British Comic Award. In October, the duo return with a breathtaking, unforgettable horror story, Lip Hook.

Few travellers take the road to the eponymous village of Lip Hook, but one foggy night, a car arrives. The driver is a dangerously beautiful woman, the passenger a man with a gunshot wound and a suitcase full of treasure. So begins a haunting, pacy tale of rural unease.

autumn-2018-wolf-1.jpg 81.61 KB

Rachael Ball's captivating and poignant graphic novel Wolf completes our autumn lineup. Published in October, it tells the story of a young boy, Hugo, whose life is upturned by a tragic accident. Hugo's new home comes with new neighbours, among them (according to the boy next door) a dangerous recluse who eats children: the Wolfman. Desperate to return to happier days, Hugo draws up plans for a time machine. But only the Wolfman has the parts he needs to complete his contraption.

Graphic novelist Kate Evans has said of the book, "Wolf is an ethereal, subtle, haunting fable. Rachael Ball has created a time machine, a nostalgic step back to a bygone age, but one which speaks to our present and future with eternal themes of love and loss."

So, there you have it: five glorious things to look forward to this autumn.


New: Tumult by John Harris Dunning and Michael Kennedy

20 June 2018

Our final release of the spring season, John Harris Dunning and Michael Kennedy's Tumult, is a stylish psychological thriller that demands to be read on the beach.

But first, you need to buy it - and what better place than Gosh! Comics, where it launches on Thursday 28th June. Join us there at 7pm for drinks, chatter and bibliotherapy.

Tumult-blog-1.jpg 93.76 KB


Here's a blurb to whet your appetite:

Adam Whistler topples himself into emotional free fall by impulsively ending his seemingly perfect relationship. He meets the bewitching and troubled Morgan at a party and is instantly ensnared in her life. When he learns that people close to her are being killed, he's determined to protect her. Or is it Adam who needs protection... from Morgan?

Tumult is a stylish contemporary psychological thriller in the tradition of Alfred Hitchcock and Patricia Highsmith.

Tumult-blog-2.jpg 76.61 KB


Twenty-three-year-old artist Michael Kennedy brings his singular style and bold colour work to a script by John Harris Dunning that is taut, pacy and achingly cool.

Tumult-blog-4.jpg 50.12 KB


Michael Kennedy is a cartoonist from Tamworth, Staffordshire. He is the artist on Spiritus from Vault Comics and has produced comics in the small press and independent scene. Tumult is his first graphic novel.

Tumult-blog-5.jpg 47.5 KB


John Harris Dunning is the writer of graphic novel Salem Brownstone. He instigated and curated the Comics Unmasked: Art and Anarchy in the UK exhibition at the British Library, the most prestigious exhibition of comics to be held in Britain. He’s written for GQ, Esquire, Dazed, iD, The Guardian and Metro.

Out now: Apollo by Matt Fitch, Chris Baker and Mike Collins

7 June 2018

Prepare for launch.

Matt Fitch, Chris Baker and Mike Collins' extraordinary account of the moon landing, Apollo, is out now, and to celebrate we're having a launch party at Soho's Gosh! Comics. (The moon would have been a more eye-catching venue, I know, but it lacks atmosphere.)

The launch takes place on Thursday 14th June, from 7-9pm. There'll be palatable wine, charming company and three creators with pens in hand, happy to scribble in your copy of the graphic novel.

Apollo-blog-1.jpg 108.46 KB


Buzz Aldrin once said, "Astronauts are not superhuman. They lead ordinary lives and have varied personalities." Apollo tells the breathtaking story of the mission itself; the moments of high drama and astonishing risk are captured in thrilling detail. But it is also a fascinating insight into the lives of three men who, in the most extraordinary of circumstances, are separated from their families and loved ones.

It's an incredible book, but don't just take our word for it.

Scientific American praised Fitch, Baker and Collins for their retelling of the "suspense-filled" story: "They convey surprising depth and emotion, as well as rich historical details of the era. The book explores the political tension around the space program at the time, the nerve-wracking anxiety experienced by the families of the crew, and the heart-stopping moments of the mission that proved to be such a milestone."

apollo-blog-3.jpg 168.6 KB


And here's Publishers Weekly: "The moon landing is one of the most well-documented events in human history, but it’s reimagined here in a way that makes it feel new again. Lovers of space-race lore will want to pick this up."

apollo-blog-4.jpg 274.59 KB


So, join us at Gosh! on Thursday 14th June to celebrate the launch of this handsome 160-page hardback. Lunar puns essential. Space suits optional.





Watch: The Brothers Quay, David Crowley and Jeff Willis on the Klimowski Poster Book

15 May 2018

Harold Pinter once said of the graphic artist Andrzej Klimowski, “He leads the field by a very long furlong, out on his own, making his own weather. He is Klimowski, unafraid”.

In this short video, filmmakers Stephen and Timothy Quay, author David Crowley and designer Jeff Willis discuss the work and influence of this most daring and brilliant of artists.



In the mid-1970s, Andrzej Klimowski’s fearlessly original artwork caught the eye of leading Polish theatre and film companies, for whom he designed some of the period’s most influential and iconic posters. The London-born artist, who moved to Poland at a time when many East Europeans dreamed of going West, went on to create posters for works by filmmakers and playwrights from Scorsese to Altman, Beckett to Brecht.

web-Spring-2018_blog_4.jpg 127.52 KB


Drawing on folk art, Polish Surrealism and the work of his mentor at the Warsaw Academy, Henryk Tomaszewski, Klimowski uses techniques including photomontage and linocut to create posters that are filled with metaphor, drama and originality.

The Klimowski Poster Book is out now and available from all good book stores.